Darkest Days – Poem 4 – Ashes Like Snow


         Can a house burn up while it’s burning down?
         This fire has taken up more than half the town

         I calm myself down – I say a prayer
         When I breathe, I can taste the smoke in the air

         Black orangish clouds creep across the whole sky
         The wind blows too fast, too hot, and too dry

         Fear grips my chest – smoke – I can’t breathe anymore
         The world starts to spin, as, I sink to the floor

         “All I hold dear is gone now” I cry
         As ashes fall softly like snow from the sky

         __________________________________________

         It’s wintertime here, and Christmas is coming
         With holiday songs about drummer boys drumming

         I hear jingling bells and see Christmas decor
         Kind people wrap presents to give to the poor

         Wreaths and holly will hang from each door
         Fresh gingerbread man – and the children want more

         The gift that I bought her, pies that I would bake
         When it comes to mind, my heart starts to break

         Something Christmas is missing, I’m not going to lie
         I ask for a white Christmas, and what’s the reply?
         Just ashes falling like snow from the sky

         __________________________________________

         To buy me that house, I saved all my life
         That house was a home, not one bit of strife

         I gave up my todays for her tomorrows
         I gave her a home to protect her from sorrows

         Up in the hills, where the weather is drier
         Our house was one of the first to catch fire

         The firemen tell me beyond a doubt
         That my girl didn’t even try to get out

         She hated her pain, she wanted to die
         I feel so angry and sad – she didn’t even try!
         And the ash it now falls like snow from the sky

         __________________________________________

         My past and my future have gone up in flame
         My hope, my heart, my house, my dame

         This life – what’s left – this ash – it’s my fate
         I wanted to save her, but I was too late

         This nightmare I wish was just a dream
         If I could speak, or breathe, I’m sure I would scream

         She was scared of the dark, so I held her at night
         I comforted – told her things would be alright

         I told her that Christmas would be quite a sight
         Said we could go see trees all dusted in white
         But only ash falls like snow tonight

         __________________________________________

         So Christmas is here – the cheer and the laughter
         The reading of stories and happy ever after

         At least I’m sure that’s how some people feel
         Far away from this fire, where pain seems unreal

         When carols are sung, and stories are read
         To me it all seems so empty and dead

         The lights are so bright, the beauty of night
         I hear someone saying things will be alright

         Then I try to breathe, but the air is too dry
         I hold on to hope, at least, I do try
         But inside of my soul, I’ve started to die
         There’s nothing left in me – I can’t even cry
         And the ash like sweet snow still falls from the sky


Leave a Reply

